The Stereoscope of Solitary Beings

The Stereoscope of Solitary Beings

Musical show based on Rodolfo Wilcock
With the Kammerensemble Neue Musik Berlin, one dancer & a maze

The Stereoscope of Solitary Beings is a collection of sixty-six novellas that was published in 1972. In it Wilcock paints the portrait of solitary beings: a cannibalistic pair, thwarted gods in everyday life, “nerds” who are unable to cope with the sun, a scrawny centaur who paints still lifes, an unemployed angel and a mermaid who instead of living in a lovely cave on the Mediterranean coast, lives among rubbish next to a foul-smelling river. Their names are Corfu, Brasco, Fritty and Lorbio. Unconventional and living on the fringes, they defend their life choices with fierceness, courage, madness and intelligence. Littered with everyday cruelties, Wilcock’s world is constructed with rigour and humour. It is fantastical, strange, eccentric even. Not dissimilar from the world of Jérôme Bosch, the boundaries between humans, animals and chimera are blurred.

Ana Maria Rodriguez, Ingrid von Wantoch Rekowski and Fred Pommerehn bring this murky and disturbing world to life through music, theatre and installation.

In the course of a musical journey through a museum, the audience is invited to discover different spaces: the first is a gallery of photographs: some of the characters who inhabit The Stereoscope of Solitary Beings have had their “portrait” taken to tell us how their “insane singularities” inhabit and reinvent our day-to-day environment; the second is a sound installation telling the story of Mör, who has been sent into space by his friends with enough provisions for a forty-year trip. The third is a strange space discovered by the audience when they enter the room. It is a labyrinth containing an unusual orchestra, half human and half animal. Its musicians are attempting the impossible: defying their isolation, their obsessions and their respective handicaps, they pursue the utopia of a common musical language.


Composition: Ana Maria Rodriguez
Director: Ingrid von Wantoch Rekowski
Set design & lighting: Fred Pommerehn
Costumes: Gabriele Kortmann
Dance: Annapaola Leso
Live electronics: Ana Maria Rodriguez

Ensemble KNM: Matthew Conley (trumpet), Theodor Flindell (violin/bandurria), Kirstin Maria Pientka (viola), Cosima Gerhardt (cello)
Voice recordings: Natacha Muslera
Sound design (Berlin): Andre Bartetzki

With the participation of students from the ERAC drama school (Marseille)
Production management: Thomas Bruns

A production of the Ensemble KNM Berlin in coproduction with Césaré, Centre national de création musicale de Reims / Reims Scènes d’Europe, Manège de Reims Scène nationale, gmem-CNCM-marseille and Lucilia Caesar. In collaboration with Ballhaus Ost. With the kind support of the Fédération Wallonie-Bruxelles and the Berlin Cultural Affairs Department.

07 May '17 - DE
06 May '17 - DE
2016 - DE
2016 - DE
2016 - FR
2016 - FR
2015 - FR
  • Theatre
  • Performance
  • IvWR